Texas Review Press 2018 Book Competitions
Will open for submissions January 1, 2018


Robert Phillips Poetry Chapbook Prize for best poetry chapbook
(online submission deadline 6/15);
manuscripts up to 40 pp.

Click Here to Submit

X. J. Kennedy Poetry Prize for best full-length book of poetry
(online submission deadline 7/15);
manuscripts up to 100 pp.

Click Here to Submit

George Garrett Fiction Prize for best book of stories or short novel
(online submission deadline 9/15);
Total word count should be between 40,000 and 120,000 words.

Click Here to Submit

Clay Reynolds Novella Prize for best novella
(online submission deadline 10/15);
Manuscripts should be between 20,000 and 50,000 words in length.

Click Here to Submit

General Guidelines

We accept ONLY Electronic Submissions through Submittable.

Manuscripts are handled as blind submissions at all levels of judging.

A reading fee of $20 must accompany each submission.

Winning manuscripts will be published the year after acceptance.

Winners will receive 20 free copies of their books.

Final ranking is always by established American writers.

Our Most Recent Competition Winners

2017 George Garrett Fiction Prize:

  • The Winner: Pitchman’s Blues a short story collection by Jim Kelly from West Bloomfield, Michigan.

  • Runner-up: Posing Nude for the Saints a short story collection by Elizabeth Genovise from Oak Ridge, Tennessee.

  • Final judge: Steven Yates
    Preliminary judge: Michael Gills

2017 Clay Reynolds Novella Prize:

  • The Winner: Blindsided by Chelsea Catherine from Graniteville, Vermont.

  • Runner-up: Unprotected Rex by Clarence Smith from Nashville, Tennessee.

  • Final judge: Clay Reynolds
    Preliminary judges: Kim Davis, Claude Wooley, Savanah Burns, Elizabeth Evans, and Laura Brackin

2017 X.J. Kennedy Poetry Prize:

  • The winner: Because the Fire in Our Heads by Jay Udall from Thibodaux, LA

  • Final Judge: David M. Parsons

2017 Robert Phillips Poetry Chapbook Prize:

  • The winner: Ephemera by Evana Bodiker from Concord, North Carolina

  • Final Judge: Robert Phillips


For further information, Contact:

Texas Review Press

Phone: 936-294-1992
FAX: 936-294-3070

E-mail: TexasReview@shsu.edu