The Robert Phillips Poetry Chapbook Prize

2024 Robert Phillips website Banner winner.png


$1,000 + Publication

2024 Judge: Carolyn Hembree

Established in 2001, The Robert Phillips Poetry Chapbook Prize highlights one book a year that excels in the chapbook format. Since 2024, the Prize comes with a $1,000 advance, a standard royalty contract, and 10 copies of the published book.

Recent judges include Alison Pelegrin, Taylor Johnson, Benjamin Garcia, Esther Lin, and Gary Jackson.

Submissions open each year on January 1 and close on March 31.

Winner of the 2024 Robert Phillips Chapbook Prize:

6 Lineage Poems, by Fernando Trujillo

Selected by Carolyn Hembree

Submission Guidelines

Submit to The Robert Phillips Chapbook Prize

General Guidelines

*Writers who studied with TRP staff or the final judge for a semester-length period are not eligible. Writers who studied with TRP staff or the final judge for two-week residencies, single workshops, or other instances less than a semester in length are eligible, provided the work submitted is previously unseen by TRP staff or the final judge.

Manuscript Guidelines

Contest Judge: Carolyn Hembree

Fair-skinned woman with dark blond hair sits on a porch beside a small dog..Carolyn Hembree’s third poetry collection, For Today, was published by LSU Press as part of their Barataria Series, edited by Ava Leavell Haymon. She is also the author of Skinny and Rigging a Chevy into a Time Machine and Other Ways to Escape a Plague, winner of the Trio Award and the Rochelle Ratner Memorial Award. Her poems appear in Beloit Poetry Journal, Copper Nickel, Poetry Daily, The Southern Review, and other publications. She is a professor in the MFA program at the University of New Orleans and serves as the poetry editor of Bayou Magazine.

Robert Phillips

Robert Phillips (1938-2022), for whom this competition is named, is the author or editor of over thirty volumes of poetry, fiction, and criticism. His honors include a Pushcart Prize, an American Academy and Institute of Arts Letters Award in Literature, a New York State Council on the Arts CAPS Grant in Poetry, MacDowell Colony and Yaddo Fellowships, a National Public Radio Syndicated Fiction Project Award, a Syracuse University Arents Pioneer Medal, and Texas Institute of Letters membership.

Previous Winners & Judges:

2024: Fernando Trujillo – 6 Lineage Poems
         Judged by Carolyn Hembree

2023: Christine Kitano – Dumb Luck & other poems
         Judged by Alison Pelegrin

2022: J. L. Conrad – Recovery
         Judged by Taylor Johnson

2021: Marisa Tirado – Selena Didn't Know Spanish Either
         Judged by Benjamin Garcia

2020: Elisabeth Murawski  Still Life with Timex
         Judged by Esther Lin

2019: Thomas V. Nguyen  Permutations of a Self
         Judged by Gary Jackson

2018: Gregory Byrd – The Name for the God Who Speaks
         Judged by Loueva Smith

2017: Evana Bodiker – Ephemera
         Judged by Robert Phillips

2016: Mark Schneider – How Many Faces Do You Have?
         Judged by Richard Foerster

2015: Loueva Smith  Consequences of a Moonless Night
         Judged by Richard Foerster

2014: J. Scott Brownlee – Ascension
         Judged by William Wright

2013: Harold Whit Williams – Backmasking
         Judged by William Wright

2012: David Lanier – Lost and Found
         Judged by Larry D. Thomas

2011: John PopielaskiIsn’t It Romantic?
         Judged by William Wright

2010: Ingrid Browning Moody – Learning About Fire

2009: David Havird – Penelope’s Design
         Judged by Robert Phillips

2008: Rebecca Foust – Mom’s Canoe

2007: Rebecca Foust – Dark Card
         Judged by Robert Phillips

2006: Lisa HammondMoving House

2005: Taylor GrahamThe Downstairs Dance Floor
         Judged by R. S. Gwynn

2004: Kevin Meaux – Myths of Electricity
         Judged by Robert Phillips

2003: Ann Killough – Sinners in the Hands: Selections from the Catalog
         Judged by Beth Ann Fennelly

2002: Nancy Naomi Carlson – Complications of the Heart
         Judged by Richard Foerster

2001: William Notter – More Space Than Anyone Can Stand
         Judged by Gray Jacobick