Image courtesy of

The most recent winners of our competions:

George Garrett Fiction Prize:

2015 winner: Jeff Jones (Moscow, Idaho)
for a novel called Love Give Us One Death

X.J. Kennedy Poetry Prize:

2016 winner: Jeff Hardin (Columbia, Tennessee)
for No Other Kind of World
(Final Judge—X.J. Kennedy)

Clay Reynolds Novella Prize:

2015 winner: Rusty Dolleman (West Paris, Maine)
for The Megabucks
(Final Judge--Clay Reynolds)

Robert Phillips Poetry Chapbook Prize:

2016 winner: Mike Schneider (Pittsburgh, PA)
for How Many Faces Do You Have?
(selected by Richard Foerster)

Texas Review Press Breakthrough Poetry Prize: Texas

rile & heave by Lindsay Illich
(selected by Will Wright)

We only accept electronic submissions.

Subscribe to or submit to The Texas Review Literary Journal

Submit to one of our competitions


It is with deep sadness that we must confirm the passing of our founder, chief editor, and director, Dr. Paul Ruffin on April 13, 2016. He will be sorely missed. However, Texas Review Press will continue to conduct business as usual, as Dr. Ruffin planned. We especially wish to reassure everyone on that point. Effective immediately, please change the business email address and telephone you have on file to reflect the following:


Telephone: 936-294-1992

This email and phone will reach both Kim Davis, Assistant to the Director, and Claude Wooley, Office Manager.

For those who wish to make a donation in memory of Dr. Paul Ruffin, you may donate to "The Friends of Texas Review Press." Online donations go through - select "other" to designate where the benefit goes, and type in “Friends of Texas Review Press.” You may also add that you are making a “Memorial Donation for Dr. Paul Ruffin.” Alternately, donations by check should be made out to SHSU (Please include “Friends of Texas Review Press” in the memo line), and mailed to:

Division of University Advancement
ATTN: Darlene Andrews
Sam Houston State University
P.O. Box 2537
Huntsville, TX 77341-2537