The Clay Reynolds Novella Prize

Established in 2001, The Clay Reynolds Novella Prize seeks to highlight one book a year that excels in the novella format. Since 2019 the Prize comes with a $500 advance, a standard royalty contract, and 20 copies of the published book.

Submissions open each year on January 1 and close on March 31. To submit please visit our online submission manager.

The Clay Reynolds Novella Prize

2019 Judge: Rita Bullwinkel

General Guidelines

Manuscript Guidelines

2019 Judge: Rita Bullwinkel

Rita Bullwinkel is the author of the story collection Belly Up. Her writing has been published in Tin House, Conjunctions, BOMBVice, NOON, and Guernica. She is a recipient of grants and fellowships from The MacDowell Colony, Brown University, Vanderbilt University, Hawthornden Castle, and The Helene Wurlitzer Foundation. Both her fiction and her translation have been nominated for Pushcart Prizes. She is an Editor at Large for McSweeney's. She lives in San Francisco.

Clay Reynolds, for whom this competition is named, is the author of ten novels, and his short fiction has won numerous awards. Reynolds’ critical evaluations have appeared in national magazines including Chronicles, American Way, and Texas Monthly.

Previous Winners:

2018: Patrick Stockwell  The Light Here Changes Everything

2017: Chelsea CatherineBlindsided

2016: Curt EriksenA Place of Timeless Harmony


2015: Rusty DollemanThe Megabucks


2014: Ernest J. FinneyElevation 6,040


2013: Benjamin LudwigSourdough


2012: Adam BerlinBoth Members of the Club


2011: Bruce Douglas ReevesDelphine


2010: Tina EgnoskiIn the Time of the Feast of Flowers


2009: Daniel RobinsonThe Shadow of Violence

2008: William OremAcross the River


2007: Tara DealPalms Are Not Trees After All


2006: Lonnie BuschTurnback Creek


2005: Seuxanne FreemanOmnibo


2004: Mark ConnellyFifteen Minutes


2003: Rebecca BaileyThe Only Road There Is


2002: Stephen MarchArmadillo


2001: Charles WyattFalling Stones: The Spirit Autobiography of S.M. Jones