The Robert Phillips Poetry Chapbook Prize

The Robert Phillips Chapbook Prize

$500 Prize

Established in 2001, The Robert Phillips Poetry Chapbook Prize highlights one book a year that excels in the chapbook format. Since 2019 the Prize comes with a $500 advance, a standard royalty contract, and 20 copies of the published book.

Submissions open each year on January 1 and close on March 31.

Guidelines, Submissions, and List of Previous Winners

The winner of the 2020 Robert Phillips Chapbook Prize is Still Life with Timex, by Elizabeth Murawski.

Submission Guidelines

2021 Judge: Benjamin Garcia

To submit please visit our online submission manager:

General Guidelines

Manuscript Guidelines

Benjamin Garcia

2021 Judge: Benjamin Garcia

Benjamin Garcia_judgephoto

Benjamin Garcia’s debut collection, Thrown in the Throat, was selected by Kazim Ali for the 2019 National Poetry Series (Milkweed Editions, August 2020). He is the son of Mexican immigrants, one of whom is formerly undocumented and one whose family has lived in New Mexico long before it was claimed by the United States. He is originally from New Mexico, raised in Texas, and currently lives in New York. He received his BA from the University of New Mexico and his MFA from Cornell University.

Robert Phillips

Robert Phillips, for whom this competition is named, is the author or editor of over thirty volumes of poetry, fiction, and criticism. His honors include a Pushcart Prize, an American Academy and Institute of Arts Letters Award in Literature, a New York State Council on the Arts CAPS Grant in Poetry, MacDowell Colony and Yaddo Fellowships, a National Public Radio Syndicated Fiction Project Award, a Syracuse University Arents Pioneer Medal, and Texas Institute of Letters membership.

Previous Winners:

2020: Elizabeth Murawski  Still Life with Timex

2019: Thomas Nguyen  Permutations of a Self

2018: Gregory Byrd – The Name for the God Who Speaks 

2017: Evana Bodiker – Ephemera

2016: Mark Schneider – How Many Faces Do You Have?

2015: Loueva Smith  Consequences of a Moonless Night 

2014: J. Scott Brownlee – Ascension

2013: Harold Whit Williams – Backmasking

2012: David Lanier – Lost and Found

2011: John PopielaskiIsn’t It Romantic?

2010: Ingrid Browning Moody – Learning About Fire

2009: David Havird – Penelope’s Design

2008: Rebecca Foust – Mom’s Canoe

2007: Rebecca Foust – Dark Card

2006: Lisa HammondMoving House

2005: Taylor GrahamThe Downstairs Dance Floor

2004: Kevin Meaux – Myths of Electricity

2003: Ann Killough – Sinners in the Hands: Selections from the Catalog

2002: Nancy Naomi Carlson – Complications of the Heart

2001: William Notter – More Space Than Anyone Can Stand